Saturday, June 28, 2008

Image Award Honors Various Artists

The 10th Annual Tuborg Image Award was held at open theater-Tundikhel on Saturday with awards in 25 different categories and song and dance performances by various artistes.

Veteran singer Yogesh Vaidya and lyricist Kiran Kharel were honored (see photo) with this year's Lifetime Achievement Award and the program also paid tribute to them with their songs.image-award.jpg

Also, Dr Sanduk Ruit received the Image National Personality of the Year award, a new category introduced this year to honor the contributions by personalities from different fields.

Swaroop Raj Acharya won the Best Vocal Performance Male award for his song E Bottle while Radha Rai won the same in the female category for Khopi Rakhaunla.

Reshma Sunuwar's “Mai Thuli Bhaichhu Re” bagged the Best Album of the Year award, while Best Song of the Year went to Supari Dana by Karma Band. Dawa Gurung, meanwhile, was this year's Best New Artiste for his song, Bhandina Ma.

Tsujil Karmacharya for Bhumo and Shashi Rawal for Chahana Sakiyo won the Best Vocal Performance Pop awards in the male and female categories respectively. Best Vocal Performance Rock went to Naren Limbu for Antim Maya, while Neiipal band won the Best Vocal Performance Group award for Maile Bolne.

Yogendra Mani Dahal's Timro Saath was adjudged the Best Lyrics, Raju Singh won the Best Music Composition award for Ma Ramro Ra Naramro, and Samir Manandhar got the Best Music Arrangement award for Rumal Lukaai. The Best Song Recording award went to Maheshwor Rajbhandari for Champa.

The award for Best Song with National Feeling went to Shanti Lukaaun Kahan penned by Basanta Chaudhari and composed by Nhyoo Bajracharya. Likewise, Ganesh Neupane's Kanchenjungha Shir won Best Folk Song, Purushottam Neupane's and Laxmi Neupane's Poorvama Jhyaal Rakhen won Best Dohori Song while Suresh Adhikari won the Best Movie Soundtrack award for Timro Laagi.

In other categories, Jeevan Pasa by Suman Kapali and Nisha Desar won the Song of the Year award in Nepal Bhasha, while the same award went to Gyan Singh Waiwa's Ladamone in Tamang language and to Prem Safal by Prabal Deep Bishwas and Sunira Chaudhari in Maithili language.

In the music video section, Asif Shah's Hunchha Malai Bihan won the Best Music Video award, while Gajalule fetched the best director and cameraman awards to Suraj Shrestha and Purushottam Pradhan respectively. Prakash Tuladhar won the best editor award for Mai Thuli Bhaichhu Re while Bishwadeep walked away with the award for special effects for Timilai Chhune.

The awards function that began with a group performance of Shanti Lukaaun Kahan, also had solo performances by artistes like Reema Gurung, Tsujil Karmacharya, Mingma Sherpa and Mausami Gurung as well as folk dances.

The program was attended by many veterans like Prem Dhoj Pradhan and Deep Shrestha, though the absence of some new generation artistes could be felt, said the organizers.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home